Frugality and times of crisis

outside.JPG

In a nutshell: Recently due to a severe family crisis frugality has been the absolute least of my concerns and basically went completely out the window.

The past 2.5 weeks have been some of the hardest of my life. Luckily this story ends well, but it was an extremely dire situation. A very, very close family member of mine (for privacy purposes I’m not going to say who) who is elderly had a very bad fall where they suffered a small skull fracture, brain bleeding and just massively not feeling well and were taken to the hospital by the paramedics.

To say this situation was terrifying for me is a massive understatement. I had to take an emergency flight out from the east coast and was just praying for them to be alive by the time I got there. It was the longest, most anxiety filled flight of my life (but thank God for the airplane that got me there!!). My beloved was first in the ICU then moved to the regular ward…and then after 4 days blessedly released from the hospital where they were deemed medically stable and that everything should heal.

I have been here ever since helping them with everything from eating, drinking, taking medicine, getting dressed, brushing their teeth, etc and just spending time together. Essentially just trying, very very slowly to get things back to normal.

I am immensely, hugely grateful that my beloved is recovering from an extremely scary and dire health crisis. It’s an absolute miracle and blessing from God. He is so full of mercy, love and compassion for us.

During this time me and my family have been eating a lot of take out. For awhile it was nearly every main meal. And this is why– this situation was so stressful that I simply was unable to cook and feed myself or anyone else and I could barely take care of myself. I was losing weight rapidly and was getting extremely low blood sugar…so I quickly realized, if I don’t eat, somehow, I will collapse and get very ill.

I was living on food from the hospital cafeteria, and after my family member was released from the hospital, living on take out from the local grocery store and restaurants. This is one of the few times in my life where there was simply no other option. It was a true emergency and I’ve been dipping into my emergency fund to take care of the costs.

Fortunately, life around here is slowly starting to normalize. My beloved is up and walking (a miracle in itself!!!) and starting to be more independent. My gratitude to God is profound and also witnessing the miracle of the body healing itself. It’s truly amazing.

I’m starting to cook a little more and eat less take out and hopefully over the next few days I can begin tracking my expenses more carefully. I’ve missed my Food Budget Friday updates, but sometimes life intervenes. Under normal circumstances I really try to avoid eating out…but this wasn’t at all normal. Thank goodness for the cafeterias and take out places that have fed me and my family over the past two weeks!!

My prayer is simply for my family member to have a full recovery, feel great, and return to their normally very social and active life ❤

6 thoughts on “Frugality and times of crisis

  1. Wishing for a speedy a full recovery.

    I think the fact that you know your situation it’s temporary and unavoidable shows the strength you have.

    I’ve been travelling for the last 7 months and with it the unavoidable circumstances of not being able to shop or cook for myself, but as long as we know that when those circumstances change back to normality we have the strength and will power to get back on that train Frugalville that’s the main thing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so sorry for all that you and your family have been through!! ((hugs))
    Money, food… Those things don’t matter when someone we care about isn’t well. 😥
    Take care of each other. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

