Making a U-turn

photo.jpgThe other day I wrote a post very honestly discussing how much I struggle with sugar. Basically I said that I planned to never eat sugar again.

While everything I said was completely true, fair and honest…something didn’t sit quite right with me. And this morning I realized what it is: It was my all-or-nothing thinking, and perfectionist tendencies rearing their ugly head trying to make me do something that is quite likely impossible for me. It’s my classic eating disorder way of thinking.

The whole pointย of keeping this blog is so I can be honest about my successes, failures and growth along the way. My journey to healing is essentially an on-going trial and error for me to see what works and what doesn’t.

Healing -from anything- just takes time and has it’s own natural process. I don’t want to get in my own way by placing all kinds of restrictions on myself, however well intentioned they may be.

By my saying I “can’t” eat something and I’m “not allowed” all that does is keep me from getting well. It keeps me from having a normal, healthy relationship with food….because after all it’s justย food.

So as of today I’m taking all of the food restrictions off and simply continuing on my healing journey to hopefully establish a healthy relationship with food โค

13 thoughts on “Making a U-turn

  1. I love myfitnesspalonly.com coz it allows for so many things and helps you track. But I did find sugar and salt detox worked wonders for me. And good for teeth. For me, treats are weekends only. I will b posting ideas with low cane sugar.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much you’re very sweet, I really appreciate your nice comment. That’s really wonderful you’re on your own healing journey. Sending lots of encouragement your way ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

