Lunch today: Vegan quesadilla and veggies

lunchIt always makes me happy when I find a good dairy substitute that I enjoy. This quesadilla I had for lunch today was excellent: it tasted great and the cheese was nice and melty. It tasted very similar to a “real” quesadilla.

Although I love dairy, especially cheese, I have a tough time eating it too often. It gives me fatigue, headaches and doesn’t digest all that well. I don’t think I’m necessarily allergic to milk products but I’m definitely sensitive.

What really made this dish excellent was using dairy-free pepper jack cheese. It gave the quesadilla extra flavor and helped it to really sing 🙂

I rounded out today’s lunch with some raw veggies including cucumber, mini tomatoes and radishes for a veggie nutrition boost.

Although I only made one serving, you could easily make more if you’re serving several people.

Awesome dairy-free quesadilla

Serves 1

2 corn tortillas, 6-inch

2-3 heaping tablespoons non-dairy pepper jack cheese, shredded

1 teaspoon non-dairy butter or vegetable oil

Salsa (optional)

Sliced veggies served on the side; such as red pepper, cucumber, radishes, tomato, or carrot sticks

Warm a large skillet on medium heat and add the non-dairy butter. When butter begins to melt place a corn tortilla in the middle of the pan. Let the tortilla warm for a few seconds and then top with the non-dairy pepper jack cheese.

When the cheese begins to warm and melt slightly top with the other tortilla. Press down with a spatula. Take a look under the top tortilla and when the cheese begins to look melty flip over. Continue cooking until the cheese is thoroughly melted.

Tortilla should be slightly browned on each side.

Total cooking time is about 5-6 minutes.

Serve with salsa and sliced veggies

One thought on “Lunch today: Vegan quesadilla and veggies

Leave a Reply

