Frugal favorites: Frozen collard greens

veggies.jpgI have a new frugal favorite: frozen collard greens!

I know how important leafy greens are for good health, but I gotta be honest: I often forget to eat them. It’s not intentional, it’s simply that bunches of fresh greens such as collard greens and kale are often huge and take time to clean, chop and cook.

These bags of frozen collard greens are fantastic. They are very reasonably priced and make incorporating more greens into your diet very easy. The greens are pre-washed, pre-cut and ready to be mixed into the cooked food of your choice; such as soups (lentil, split pea, minestrone, etc), stews, lasagna, frittatas, pasta sauce and many, many more.

Simply cut open the bag and pour in the greens; that’s it! The greens are delicate and cook quite fast. I recommend not over-cooking them and adding them closer to the end of the cooking process.

Tonight I had gluten-free pasta and meatballs. I added about 1/2 cup of frozen collard greens to the pasta sauce and it turned out great 🙂

These will definitely be making more appearances in my cooking! ❤

3 thoughts on “Frugal favorites: Frozen collard greens

  1. What a great idea, Rose. I’m the only one in my family who enjoys leafy greens. This makes it easy for me to add them to my meals while the rest of the family eats what they like. Brilliant! 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

