Food budget Friday, Jan 27

food.JPGThis week my spending was better and I came in under budget! After my move last week I’m starting to feel a little bit more settled which definitely helps.

Many of the boxes are unpacked including a lot of my kitchen stuff so I’m able to cook here pretty well. But there is still a ways to go- a lot of the walls needs painting, and there is a lot of cleaning to do but those projects just take some time and patience.

My food this week was again up and down. Guess what I ate for breakfast on Monday? A bowl of dark chocolate chips, probably about 1/4 pound. Pro tip: not the best idea. I felt sick until about 4pm. But they did taste great while I was eating them.

One of the biggest problems with my binge eating disorder is how deceitful and sneaky it is. I know chocolate for breakfast is stupid…but yet I had chocolate in the house and over night became obsessed with eating it. So eat it .

This eating episode made me more convinced that the house needs to be a “safe place” where I don’t keep binge triggering foods. There are many foods I’m ok with, but certain ones such as: cake, chocolate, candies, potato chips, soda, pizza and a few more I simply can’t keep in the house.

For example, it’s perfectly ok if I want a cupcake but I need to go to a bakery and buy one and enjoy it thoroughly. I can’t buy a 6 pack from the grocery store and try to convince myself that I somehow won’t eat them. I simply will.

Back to budgeting: my food spending was definitely better this week. I was about $20 under budget. My all cash system worked so I’m going to continue doing that 🙂

Spending for the week:

  • 1/21: $11.55
  • 1/22: $17.66
  • 1/23: $7.47
  • 1/24: $5.97
  • 1/25: $7.55
  • 1/26: $12.95
  • 1/27: $16.04

Total: 79.19

My current grocery budget is $100/week. I eventually would like to reduce that to $75-85/week.

5 thoughts on “Food budget Friday, Jan 27

  1. Good idea, Rose, to go out for a single treat to thoroughly enjoy. That way it can be a treat in terms of going out, doing something special for yourself, and not just a mindless consumption. Well done! 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m similar in that if I have junk in the house, and I allow myself to eat any of it, I’ll eat all of it! :-\ Better to go out for a treat or make just enough for us to finish at one sitting.
    Hmm, I probably missed where you talked about shopping…do you food shop every day or you just broke down the cost for us?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a very good question 🙂 I like to shop so I often pick up a few groceries when I’m out, but not every day. However it seems like almost every day I end up buying something (even if it’s not groceries), such as coffee with a friend.

      When I total my receipts for the week I try to include all food spending including: groceries, meals out and going to the coffee shop.

      I hope this helps 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

