Food Budget Friday: I’ve been moving this week edition

Hi there lovely friends,

This week I moved to a new place! Most of us know that moving is….a lot of work. It’s all good though and I’m very grateful because I’m now in a nicer place and it’s a better situation over all. God is good : )

Much of my week has consisted of bringing stuff over from my old place, cleaning my old place (honestly, where does all the dust, dirt, etc come from?!), trying to start getting settled here, getting utilities set up, etc etc. My apologies I know that’s all a bit boring 🙂

My eating this week was very up and down. I had a couple of binges which I wasn’t happy about but I think the stress from moving and feeling unsettled because of having so much to do and being in an unfamiliar place got to me.

That’s a consistent thread I see with my binge eating: feeling unsettled/stressed can often lead to a binge. The thing is though…that’s life and there’s always something it seems because life isn’t a placid lake it’s a river that just keeps on going and moving.

Being able to cope better with the ever-changing nature of life is one of my big goals with healing my eating disorder. I guess you could say it’s learning better stress & anxiety management.

Unfortunately I didn’t keep good records this week and misplaced many of my receipts. I can say for sure though that I went over budget by at least $30. This is for three reasons: 1. I binged several times which is expensive; 2. I needed to buy some food for the new place because I was running low on groceries; 3. I went out to eat a few times (3 times I think), it was just burger and burrito places but the costs of eating out really adds up.

Some fun news: I made my first “real” meal tonight at the new place (that didn’t come from a bag or a box). I made scrambled eggs with onion and mushrooms, boiled broccoli, and some sweet potato. It’s nice to be cooking again it’s much healthier and more frugal.

Hopefully I’ll start to feel more settled in the next few days and can get back on track 🙂

dinner

11 thoughts on “Food Budget Friday: I’ve been moving this week edition

  1. Wow, I have a similar issue with overeating in stressful situations. I lost a lot of weight, but have put some back on recently. I have started exercising again and now I am trying to get my budget under control and pay off debt. I sometimes think when we give up one thing (eating) we try to replace it with something else (shopping?) lol! It’s a never ending cycle. I can’t wait to read your articles. I am only three articles in on my blog. Really trying for accountability and to share ideas. looking forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Chris, welcome to my blog I’m so glad you joined me!! 🙂 Thank you also for sharing where you are in your journey I appreciate it. That’s really, really great that you’re exercising again and working to pay down debt.

      I like your blog a lot and I encourage you to keep writing; it’s a great way to track your journey and also to meet people.

      Like

  2. Congratulations on your new home, Rose. Moving, even when you’re looking forward to the change, is enormously stressful. You did it. Today is a new day filled with new opportunities. Seize them! 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “it’s a river that just keeps on going and moving” – This is such an important thing to keep in mind. I wish I could stop my kids from growing and changing…and just freeze this time for awhile. 🙂
    Congrats on your move!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree, I often wish I could freeze time at least just for a tiny bit 🙂 Especially when I’m spending time with family and friends.

      Thank you for the kind wishes on my move!! I think I’m starting to feel a tiny bit more adjusted 🙂 Hope you have a lovely weekend ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Nancy, I’m just starting to feel a little bit more adjusted, hopefully in another week or two it will feel like home. It can just take a bit of time.

      Thank you for your thoughtfulness and encouragement, I really appreciate it. I hope you have a lovely weekend ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

