What about sugar?

cupcakeSugar and me definitely have a love/hate relationship. I love how it sweetens up everything from BBQ sauce to cookies; but I don’t like how it makes me feel physically, emotionally and spiritually.

On a practical level I’m also becoming more aware of how sugar pops up in many unsuspecting places such as mayonnaise, salad dressings, pasta sauce, hot sauce, non-dairy milks, and salad dressings, among many others. It’s frustrating how sugar is hiding in a lot of our every day foods so we are possibly eating more than we really want to unintentionally.

I know sugar is also the #1 culprit in triggering my binge eating (with anxiety and stress being a close #2) and has been a major food addiction issue for most of my life. I’ve been a heavy sugar eater since childhood, with unhappy consequences, such as being overweight.

When I say “sugar” I’m referring to it in it’s many forms: cane sugar, molasses, maple syrup, agave nectar, honey, etc.

What I wrestle with is this: Since I am a person with an eating disorder that I am trying to heal, I really try to avoid the temptation to say I’m, “never going to eat a certain food (ie. sugar) ever again!!” It’s an easy mental trap for me to fall into, and it never works. I’ve tried this, oh maybe 1000 times.

So, what’s a girl to do? I have no easy answers for this one, I really wish I did. At the very least I can try to be mindful and aware that sugar is a problem for me. Perhaps not make any grand gestures, like saying I’ll never eat cake again because…that’s ridiculous and unrealistic. And the first thing I would probably do after I say that is go eat cake, probably a couple slices, in a dark room all by myself 🙂

So I am hoping that mindfulness and awareness are the first step in healing my relationship with sugar.

A final note: this is an interesting opinion piece I saw in The New York Times, called “A Month Without Sugar.” It’s definitely a good read.

As always, I love to hear your thoughts.

6 thoughts on “What about sugar?

  1. So difficult to avoid sugar without checking everything. French sliced bread often has sugar in it and it tastes disgusting! Although I’m not bothered by normal sweet treats I do love sweet marinades for meat. At least you are aware of where it hides.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree sugar really is difficult to avoid without checking labels. I didn’t realize French sliced bread has sugar in it also, it’s helpful to know that 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

