My New Years resolutions

bike2Do you have any New Years resolutions for 2017?

For a long while I wasn’t planning on making any but recently I decided to make a couple. Generally I take my life day by day, and while the new year is nice…really it’s just another day for me. But I thought, it’s a good time to think about goals so why don’t I make a few.

My New Years resolutions:

  1. To bike more and drive less. I drive a lot but for short distances. I live in a suburban neighborhood where most people drive instead of bike and public transportation is not a great option. But I do live within biking distance to some grocery stores so I’m going to try and bike there sometime and see how it goes. Also I love biking: it’s really fun and a great source of free transportation. Plus you get a lot of exercise!
  2. To eat no foods made from flour (or much much less). This might sound a bit extreme but hear me out: When I look back at my journal I’m seeing a clear connection between foods made from flour (bread, pasta, cookies, corn chips, cake, etc) and my binge eating. They seem to be my “gateway” foods to bingeing. Why this is I’m not entirely sure; perhaps breads, etc destabilize my blood sugar or maybe I have a mild allergy to them. All I know is that when I eat whole carbs like brown rice, quinoa, sweet potatoes, etc. they seem to trigger far fewer binges. So I’ll just go with that for now.
  3. To help others more. I really enjoy helping other people and volunteering. It gives me a great amount of joy to know that I’m contributing in my own small way. However I feel like I hardly ever do this and that bums me out big time. This year I would like to volunteer more.
  4. Freedom from fear. This is hard to admit but in many ways I’m a very fearful person, I especially worry about losing people I love and about the future. This is day in and day out for me; it really really wears me down. I’d love to be able to trust more; trust God and his plan and know that my life and that of those I love are in His hands and that everything is ok. Freedom from constant fear and worry would be a major blessing.
9 thoughts on “My New Years resolutions

  1. This is an interesting post, Rose. I’m not one who makes New Year’s resolutions, but I did plan (a few days behind now!) to sit down and write a personal strategic/action plan! And yes, like you volunteering is one of them (I do a few at the moment, but ‘would have to step up a bit). Also, a friend just reminded me this morning of 2 Timothy 1:7–that I need to claim it every day. So I think I’ll do that in a while–write it down, and read it every day!

    The Lord bless you, Rose. I wish you good health, peace and joy this year!

    “A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.” – Prov. 16:9

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

