Food budget Friday, Jan 6

photo14This week was encouraging, I was about $14 under budget which is getting me closer to my goal of spending $75-85/week on groceries. A good way to start the new year!

I’ve been using an all-cash system the last two weeks and it must be helping. I’ve been doing less impulse shopping (the #1 enemy of my budget) and also trying to use up food that I already have before buying more.

Luckily though we’re big eaters at my house so food doesn’t stick around for too long anyways. But I always seem to find random cans of soup, beans, pumpkin, or frozen veggies in the pantry that still need to be eaten so I’m working through those.

The reason I chart my food spending is because I find budgeting really difficult and it’s something that I need to practice and work on every day. If I don’t pay attention I can easily spend close to $1000 every month on groceries, eating at restaurants, and just buying this and that. It all really adds up quickly!!

Here is a photo from one of shopping trips this week. The chips and bread aren’t for me 🙂

food

Spending for the week:

  • 12/31: $10.13
  • 1/1: $12.77
  • 1/2: $19.21
  • 1/3: $13.95
  • 1/4: $4.36
  • 1/5: $16.91
  • 1/6: $8.87

Total: $86.20

My current grocery budget is $100/week. I eventually would like to reduce that to $75-85/week.

2 thoughts on “Food budget Friday, Jan 6

Leave a Reply

