Spicy eggs and corn tortillas: delicious and inexpensive

pepper2This is a last-minute meal that turned out really well! The other night I was busy and ended up needing to make dinner pretty late. I had completely forgotten to cook brown rice or potatoes earlier so I was looking through the fridge to see if I had a “quick” carb that I could use.

I saw a package or tortillas, some eggs and an onion and thought….hmmm…I wonder if there is some potential here. So I looked up recipes ideas online and I found people recommending to cut or tear up some tortillas and fry them first before adding the eggs. I thought this sounds pretty awesome and I have all the ingredients so why don’t I try it out?!

This is a good recipe: it came together quickly and was very tasty. It has all the elements that I really like in a meal: it’s quick, simple, cheap, filling and has a good amount of protein. Dinner for 2 people was about $2 (note: I used inexpensive eggs, they were $1.49/dozen and the tortillas were $2/dozen).

I also like to have a veggie with every main meal. With this dish I served green beans 🙂

This recipe is easy to double or triple if you’re feeding more people. Simply cook it in batches and keep warm.

Spicy eggs and corn tortillas

Serves 2 to 3

9 eggs, whisked together (note: I removed the yolk from 4 eggs to lower the fat level a little bit)

5 corn tortillas,  torn or cut into bite size pieces (but not too small)

2 tablespoons diced yellow onion

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

2 teaspoons water or milk

Hot sauce, to taste

2 cups cooked vegetables: your choice- green beans, carrots, broccoli, zucchini, etc.

Salt and pepper

Crack eggs in a large bowl, add the water or milk and whisk together. Add a pinch of salt and pepper.

Next, tear or cut the tortillas into bite size pieces and set aside.

Heat a large nonstick skillet on medium and add the oil. When oil is warm add the onion and cook until translucent. Next, add the tortillas and stir with a spatula to coat the pieces with vegetable oil.

When the tortilla pieces begin to brown and crisp slightly pour in the egg mixture. Cook how you would scrambled eggs: let the eggs set slightly and then carefully mix the eggs and tortilla pieces together until cooked all the way through.

Serve with a generous splash of hot sauce and the veggies. I also like mine with a little bit of ketchup. Hope you enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Spicy eggs and corn tortillas: delicious and inexpensive

Leave a Reply

