Hot chocolate recipe: dairy-free and sugar-free

I love dairy but recently dairy just isn’t loving me back and I’m finding that I get fatigue, bloating and just generally don’t feel well when I have dairy products.

I’ve been switching over to non-dairy milks, including almond, coconut and soy milks and I’ve definitely been feeling better because of it, so I think it’s a lifestyle change I’m going to try and stick with (although I do love real Parmesan cheese with pasta that’s a tough one to let go of).

Today was super cold and this afternoon I had a craving for a treat, specifically something chocolatey. However I didn’t want to have a calorie monster like a big slice of cake or a giant cookie and ruin my appetite for dinner, and also possibly bring on a binge.

So I gave it some thought and decided to try and make hot chocolate. I really enjoy hot chocolate, it’s delicious, soothing and warm and felt just right for what I needed today.

I had some of the ingredients at home already but I needed to buy the cocoa powder and vanilla extract.

I like the recipe I came up with, however because I’m not using standard ingredients like dairy milk and white sugar you may definitely need to tinker with it to have it fit your taste needs.  I made it for myself, so the recipe only serves one. As a bonus, it’s  also low in calories!!

The ingredients I used:

photo24.jpg

photo26

Hot Chocolate: Dairy-Free and Sugar-Free

Serves 1

1.5 cups almond milk, unsweetened (sweetened is fine, you may prefer to use less stevia)

1/4 cup non-dairy creamer

1.5 tablespoons cocoa powder

1/2 teaspoon stevia powder, or to taste (note: check the label of your stevia as sweetness levels can vary widely)

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

pinch salt (optional)

In a saucepan add all ingredients except the vanilla extract. Over medium heat whisk in all the cocoa powder. When hot chocolate begins to gently simmer turn off heat and add the vanilla extract. Serve and enjoy!! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Hot chocolate recipe: dairy-free and sugar-free

  1. I just put a handful of mini chocolate chips into 1 cup of almond (or any other kind of non-dairy) milk, microwave for 2 minutes, froth up with my whisk and serve. Probably not as low in calories, but easy! 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds so much more sophisticated than my usual method of dumping 4 scoops of chocolate milk mix into a cup of milk and nuking it til it boils. Very glad you shared and now know what I’ll be doing in the next 5 minutes haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

