Food budget Friday, Dec 23

photo12.jpgOnly two days until Christmas!! One of my favorite parts of the season is seeing the twinkly, sparkly holiday lights and the beautiful decorations.

After adding up my receipts for the week my debit card has also been in a holiday mood it seems. Maybe it’s been going out and partying at night? 😉

Needless to say, I’m over budget this week….by almost $45! And surprisingly it wasn’t all from binge foods. But admittedly I bought more “fun” foods than I really need, such as four boxes of tea, sugared pecans, coffee creamer, etc. I’ve been going over budget too often recently so I’m starting to realize that I probably need a better system. I’m thinking of trying out a simple envelope system for a few weeks (or however long I need it) and using only cash for buying groceries. This way when the cash is gone, it’s gone!

Hopefully this way I’ll get back on track and get closer to my budget goals.

Happily, my bingeing has been better this week (even with it being a holiday week)! I just looked back at my journal and I didn’t have a full-on binge once this week. What I did struggle with was eating too many processed carbohydrates, mainly corn chips and bread…but I didn’t binge! Woohoo!

My current grocery budget is $100/week. I eventually would like to reduce that to $75-85/week.

Spending for the week:

  • 12/17: $12.85
  • 12/18: $7.48
  • 12/19: $25.85
  • 12/20: $20.54
  • 12/21: $0
  • 12/22: $55.29
  • 12/23: $21

Total: $143.01

3 thoughts on “Food budget Friday, Dec 23

Leave a Reply

