Embracing green tea

img_0162I was at the grocery store a few days ago and this box of green tea caught my eye. I’ve been thinking about green tea recently because of reading about it’s health benefits, which sound pretty good.

I’ve had green tea on occasion in the past many times but it’s not been something I drink regularly. So I decided to buy this box of decaf green tea just to try it out (I generally have decaffeinated drinks but that’s just a personal preference).

I heated up some water and let the tea bag steep for about 5 minutes. After it had cooled down a bit I tried it…and really liked it! It has a nice mellow flavor and just felt very calming and soothing. I usually drink herbal teas like peppermint, ginger or chamomile so this is a nice change.

Another great thing about tea is that it’s often a very cost efficient drink if you make it yourself. This box was $3.60 and contained 20 tea bags. That means each cup of tea is only 18 cents. That sounds like a pretty good price to me. Especially compared to buying, say, a 20 ounce soda at the gas station for $1.80.

Frugality rocks : )

I always enjoy finding new little treasures that I can add in to my routine that are also healthy and inexpensive (a nice bonus!). In fact I just made a cup of green tea. I think I’ll go sit on the couch and relax for a bit.

4 thoughts on “Embracing green tea

Leave a Reply

