Food budget Friday, Nov 18

fruit3Hello everyone! I am in California visiting my mom for Thanksgiving week. I’m grateful to spend time with her and also enjoy the nice weather : )

This week my spending was a bit over budget, by almost $10. This is for a couple reasons: I had run out of a lot of basic groceries early this week so needed to restock (rice, bread, ketchup, etc); I impulse bought some junk food (this always makes my food bill higher than I’d like); and finally I was flying/traveling for most of the day today so I ended up eating out twice for both lunch and dinner.

Normally I try to cook most of my meals at home. I actually really prefer eating at home because that way I have better control over the ingredients and the cost is almost always much lower.

I’ve also been traveling a lot recently, which although it can be fun, it takes a lot of effort for me to keep to a regular routine. I love routine, I am super boring that way ๐Ÿ™‚ Sticking to a routine is very helpful for me with my eating disorder because that way my life is more predictable, which I prefer. I like to know what I’m going to eat,ย what time I’m having my meals, etc.

However life is not always so predictable, so I just have to do the best with what I have. Hopefully things will settle down tomorrow and I can get back into a routine again while I’m at my mom’s house.

My current grocery budget is $100/week. I eventually would like to reduce that to $75-85/week.

Spending for the week:

  • 11/12: $26.41
  • 11/13: $18.43
  • 11/14: $23.30
  • 11/15: $13.87
  • 11/16: $4.67
  • 11/17: $4.76
  • 11/18: 18.49

Total: $109.88

4 thoughts on “Food budget Friday, Nov 18

  1. Routine does, indeed, sound boring, Rose, lol. Perhaps it might be helpful to use the word “structure,” instead? I like structure. For me, structure is freeing. I envision a simple framework, like for a house, on which I can “hang” my “stuff.” For me, it’s important to keep the structure simple and flexible so that I can adjust it to my current needs and not adhere to something that no longer works for me just because it’s there.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family! ๐Ÿ˜‰ xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree, structure is a great word! Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Keeping things simple and flexible is very helpful. I hope you have a wonderful holiday, also! ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Like

Leave a Reply

