Food budget Friday, Nov 4

fruit3I came in slightly below budget this week with about 6 dollars to spare! It’s a good feeling to be a little bit below budget.

After reviewing my receipts for the week I definitely still made a lot of impulse purchases that weren’t on my shopping list. These includes ice cream, chips, cookies, and soda. I admittedly had a couple of binges this week which is why I made the impulse purchases. Although it’s not ideal I’m glad I’m being honest it. If I hadn’t made these purchases my food bill would be lower

A binge is very different than a treat. A treat is something on my shopping list that is planned that I can look forward to. A binge is impulsive, not planned, expensive, and leads to my feeling sick and ashamed afterwards. Two totally different things.

I don’t want to eliminate all “treat” foods from my life because I don’t think that’s necessary or healthy. But I do want a treat to be planned and sensible.

My current grocery budget is $100/week. I eventually would like to reduce that to $75-85/week.

Spending for the week:

  • 10/29: $21.27
  • 10/30: $7.96
  • 10/31: $16.96
  • 11/1: $10.35
  • 11/2: $12.23
  • 11/3: $24.79
  • 11/4: $0
5 thoughts on “Food budget Friday, Nov 4

Leave a Reply

