Making wise decisions in daily life

IMG_0142.JPGEvery day we make a lot of decisions: What time to wake up? What to eat for breakfast? What to wear? Luckily those are often simple and easy decisions.

But what about tougher things such as choosing to take a walk instead of watching tv, read a book instead of another hour of mindless web surfing, or being nice instead of grouchy to a difficult co-worker or family member?

Or even much bigger things that can have a huge negative or positive impact on our lives such as: to take on a significant amount of credit card debt, buy a house or car, divorce, start a new business, drive recklessly, etc.

All of these decisions, big and small, can build upon one another and set you up for a good day or a not so good day. And taking a bigger view these daily decisions can grow into having a good week, a good month, and eventually an awesome or frankly, awful life.

What’s nice about decisions is that generally we are the ones making them. It’s empowering to know that we have the ability, right now to make a better, healthier decision.

However, I am the first to admit that I mess up all the time and often don’t make good decisions. And you know what? My bad decisions, big and small, cause me a lot of pain, grief, and stress. But if they hurt me then why do I keep doing them? Because a lot of these behaviors for me are simply old bad habits that are set off by boredom, loneliness, stress and anxiety.

So what are the things I struggle with the most? Well, bingeing and issues around food of course, but also excessive Internet reading (mostly news which is often depressing), excessive tv watching, having a lack of core direction in my life (this is hard to admit and painful) and generally just not taking care of myself the way I need to.

What’s awesome however about the ability to make better decisions is that, when you get down to it, it really is in our hands. No one is making me read the news, no one is putting cookies and ice cream in my mouth, no one is making me watch tv until 2am. And you know what…that’s really cool! This means in many ways that I am the driver of my own life.

Of course I know first hand that this is easier said than done, but with time and practice to break old bad habits, and poor coping methods, that real, healthy change is possible. We all have the ability to be the person we truly want to become.

Thanks for reading 🙂

One thought on “Making wise decisions in daily life

Leave a Reply

