Importance of sleep

Healing my binge eating goes way beyond just food. It is really a healing of body-mind and soul. One area of particular importance for me is getting enough sleep and good quality sleep.

I’ve known this for years but it’s not always easy for me to do. My main bad habit is watching tv on my laptop way too late at night. This behavior often ends up really messing up my sleep for weeks and months (or years!) on end. What happens is the tv either keeps me up, or I fall asleep and then end up waking up a lot in the middle of the night, which is really annoying. My guess is because my mind never really went into rest mode.

Last night was a perfect example. I watched tv way too late and ended up waking up constantly through the night. I got a pretty terrible nights sleep and it was completely my fault.

I’m not much into making rules for myself but I think turning off the tv by by 9:30-9:45 is absolutely necessary as part of my healing program. This includes e-readers too, basically anything electronic. If I need entertainment it really must be just books or magazines. Nothing that emits any light. If I turn off all my electronics say by 9:45 this hopefully will give my mind time to get into rest mode so I can sleep through the night.

When I’ve done this in the past my sleep is usually much better. I will just need to stick with it.

3 thoughts on “Importance of sleep

Leave a Reply

