Real life recipe: Beans and Rice

In the past few weeks beans and rice has become one of my favorite go-to recipes. It’s fairly simply to make but really delicious and healthy. I always feel good, body and soul after eating it. It’s also an inexpensive meal to make which is a great bonus.

I made this recipe for dinner tonight. Overall I’m feeling pretty ok about my eating today. I didn’t binge which is a huge victory. All day I’ve been suffering the effects of yesterday’s binge, the symptoms include bloating, a feeling of heaviness and fullness in my stomach and headache. I feel like tonight though that the effects of yesterday’s binge are starting to lessen, I hope I feel better tomorrow.

Beans and Rice

Serves 2-3

3 cups cooked brown rice

1 medium yellow or sweet white onion

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

2 teaspoons canola or vegetable oil

Salt and pepper, to taste

In a saucepan cook the brown rice and set aside. Warm up a frying pan on medium heat with the oil and add the onion. Cook until onion is fairly translucent and starting to look cooked.photo4

Add the black beans and stir until fully mixed with the onion. Add salt and pepper to taste. Next, mix in the brown rice and cook until warmed all the way through. photo5

I serve this with cooked steamed vegetables on the side. Tonight was green beans. Salsa and wedges of lime are also nice.

photo6.jpg

 

 

 

One thought on “Real life recipe: Beans and Rice

Leave a Reply

